About Me

My name is Rakeem Brookins often referred to as Rak around campus. I am a Philadelphia native and what brought me to Siena was the opportunity to play basketball on a full scholarship. Growing up in Philly facing the social problems that went on was one reason for me to take this class. By using visual imagery, I can take things that happen from my inter-city and show classmate’s something’s that they are not use to seeing or even hearing about happening in their community.

In this course I will be using the word press website to do all of my assignments http://sociologyofdocumentaryfilmmaking.wordpress.com/.  The course is Sociology of Documentary Filmmaking 385-9e, and it is instructed by Professor Beverly Thompson. This course teaches you to take sociological problems that is happening in the world today and putting it in a visual imagery. With visual imagery this can provide a lot more information and for certain people like me a better understanding; rather than it being written down.

These inter-city problems lead me to my topic for the class. I will be talking about the violence between the same races. This topic of Black on Black crime had grasped my attention first because I can relate to it the most. In the area that I grew up in, many people have been gunned down and stabbed which result to death when they have a problem. The media talks about it but no one takes action to help these issues. I would do something within the community to help everyone get along, well at least try.  have a community basketball event that everyone allowed to come join; free food, drinks, and ice cream. Instead of resulting in crime we should be helping one another. Giving a helping hand when others need it and giving them the proper guidance. With the hatred that people have against each other it does not allow people to get along. Genocide is not something that should be going on. Treat your race, religion, culture as family not as enemies.

Leave a comment